Storm’s award winners announced


Last Friday players, coaches, support staff, sponsors and fans got together to celebrate this phenomenal season with our Annual Awards Presentation at Watford Football Club.

It was a great evening involving lots of fun, laughter, reflection, as well as the all important awards ceremony! Special thanks and gifts were given out to all the voluntary support staff that make this Club what it is.

This year we gave the power to the fans! Storm are by far the best supported team in the league and to show our appreciation for being the "6th" man during games we let the fans decide on this season's awards. These were presented by Sir Mike Penning on the night. Credit to Toby Gastaldi-Davies for the photos.

Thank you to everyone who attended the event and to everyone who voted for the awards. Here's the winners!


  • Winner – #1 Hakeem Sylla
  • Runners up – #21 Aaryn Rai & #10 Charles Acquah-Davies

Comments on why you voted for Hakeem

  • Monster in the paint!
  • Rebounds, rebounds, rebounds
  • Had to guard some bigs much bigger than him and never allows them to dominate.
  • Rebound king and shot stopper.
  • Effortlessly brilliant
  • When that smile gets going Storm are on top (lots of comments about his smile!)



  • Joint Winners – #12 Taylor Johnson & #4 Sam Newman
  • Runner up – #21 Aaryn Rai

 Comments on why you voted for Taylor

  • Big time player for the big time games
  • Such a joy to watch.
  • He gets buckets!
  • Go to player under pressure
  • Reliable, dependable, skilled and massive inspiration to the fans.

 Comments on why you voted for Sam

  • Assist demon!
  • His unselfish play this year has allowed us to take the smart shots which has contributed to our high % shooting accuracy.
  • Underrated, quality all round.
  • Sets the tone of the offensive. When Sam is ticking, the team ticks. Great vision; finds the open man and can knock them down too.
  • Sam’s created a lot of brilliant plays this season - the unsung hero!
  • 3 point game is fire. Precise and strategic, always steps up when it’s needed, never looks tired.


  • Winner – #21 Aaryn Rai
  • Runners up – #12 Taylor Johnson & #4 Sam Newman

 Comments on why you voted for Aaryn:

  • Makes the big plays at crucial times. Can score from anywhere and defend without fouling.
  • Just all-round awesomeness.
  • Such a good team player who shares the ball as well as being able to score great totals
  • Monster at both ends!
  • The stats don't lie
  • Mr double, double and conducts himself impeccably on court.  
  • Always has the best rebounds, isn’t scared to attack and loves a 3 pointer
  • Consistently good both ends of the court. Never gives up
  • Quality bloke, an absolutely outstanding versatile player. Never seen a player like him!
  • Unstoppable; unselfish; unbelievable



  • Winner – #8 Seth Swalve

Quote from Captain #15 Tayo Oyefusi

"Well deserved award for a great teammate. He is the ultimate professional, he does all the right things on and off the court and everything he contributes is for the benefit of the team. There's not one bit of arrogance or entitlement in his body. All of this is why he is by far one of my favourite teammates in my 11 seasons of playing basketball."



  • Winner – Ollie Heathcote, match night team and match reporter

Quote from Kat Taylor

"A well deserved award for a great volunteer. Ollie has been a key part of the ‘team behind the team’ this season. He supports the club in many ways from doing the press reports, player interviews, helping set up the StormDome and as a passionate fan supporting the team at both home and away games. A very personable, keen and polite young man Ollie deserves this recognition and has a bright future ahead of him."


The same week saw Basketball England announce the NBL Division One award winners. Congratulations to the Storm members who were honoured in this:

  • Player of the Year - #21 Aaryn Rai
  • Coach of the Year - Dru Spinks
  • Team of the Year featured #21 Aaryn Rai, #12 Taylor Johnson, #1 Hakeem Sylla
  • British Team of the Year featured #21 Aaryn Rai, #4 Sam Newman



Copyright Hemel Storm Basketball